Print Friendly and PDF

Race Week News

Back

Day 1 and 2 of Nantucket Race Week
August 8, 2010

Contact:

Diana Brown

4 Winter Street

PO Box 2424

Nantucket, MA 02584

Office: 508.228.6600

Diana@nantucketsailing.com

 

 

                                    FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

            Highlights and results of Saturday, August 7th and Sunday August 8th of Nantucket Race Week

 

 

The first two days of Nantucket Race Week focused on local competitors.  Saturday's races focused on Alerions, Indians, Marshall Cats, Rainbows and Rhodes 19's inside the harbor.  Clear skies and South East winds of 10-12 knots presented an enjoyable day for the first of a three days series.  Top finishers in each division were:

 

Division: Alerion (17 boats)

Pos

Bow/Sail

Boat

Skipper

1

2

3

Total
Points

Pos

1

A- 24

Shehera Zade

Marshall Pagon

1

1

1

3.00

1

2

A- 26

First Tracks

Brian Simmons

2

2

2

6.00

2

3

A- 18

Osprey

Hoyt & Crowley

3

3

6

12.00

3

 

Division: Indian (16 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper

1

2

3

Total
Points

Pos

1

46

Siasconset

, Ian McNeice

1

1

1

3.00

1

2

31

Nippanoose

, Taylor Poor

3

3

4

10.00

2

3

34

Sconset

, Sykes & Liljegren

2

2

7

11.00

3

 

Division: Marshall Cat (7 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper

1

2

3

Total
Points

Pos

1

222

Tigger

Steven Caulfield

1

1

2

4.00

1

2

632

Caterpillar

John & Jonas Everets

3

4

1

8.00

2

3

125

Quicksilver

L. Dennis Shapiro

2

2

4

8.00

3

 

Division: Rainbow (15 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper

1

2

3

Total
Points

Pos

1

37

Clio

, Melissa & Nat Philbrick

1

1

1

3.00

1

2

Rainbow

Squantum

, Mark Feigen

4

3

2

9.00

2

3

Purple/Blue

Mistoffelees

Mead, Stephen

2

5

4

11.00

 

 

Division: RHODES 19 (18 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper

1

2

3

Total
Points

Pos

1

3406

Toni Too

Sophie Massie

1

3

1

5.00

1

2

3201

Rodeo

Eric Johnson

3

2

5

10.00

2

3

3737

Rhode Show

Thomas Glover

4

1

8/MAN

13.00

 

 

On Sunday, IOD's (International One Designs) competed outside the harbor in 16 knots of wind with gusts to over 20.  Bravo flag (no spinnakers) flew for the first two of three races.  Results after three races were:

 

IOD Class (13 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper

1

2

3

Total
Points

Pos

1

PEOPLES

 

Bob Constable

6

3

2

11.00

1

2

FOXTROT

 

Bruce Failing

2

4

5

11.00

2

3

HOTEL

 

Ian McNeice

3

5

4

12.00

3

 

 


ABOUT NANTUCKET RACE WEEK SPONSORS

 

We are delighted to welcome our new and returning sponsors:

 

NRW TITLE SPONSOR

reMain Nantucket www.remainnantucket.org

 

OHC PRESENTING SPONSOR

Panerai www.panerai.com

 

GOLD SPONSOR

Vineyard Vines www.vineyardvines.com

 

SILVER SPONSOR

Sperry Topsider www.sperrytopsider.com

Chartis www.chartisinsurance.com

The Inquirer and Mirror www.ack.net

 

1/2 SILVER SPONSOR

Hedge Connection www.hedgeconnection.com

Vioni Capital Management www.vionicapital.com

 

BRONZE SPONSOR

Charles Schwab www.schwab.com

Windward Investment Management www.windwardinv.com

Wilmington Trust www.wilmingtontrust.com

Porsche www.greaterboston.porschedealer.com

Polachi Partners www.polachi.com

David Yurman www.davidyurman.com

ePaint www.epaint.com

Maui Jim www.mauijim.com

Carlin Contracting www.carlincontracting.com

 

FLEET SPONSOR

Atlantis WeatherGear www.atlantisweathergear.com

Plum TV www.plumtv.com/nantucket

New England Brokerage Co. www.nebco.net

Headway www.hdway.com

Robert Oatley Vineyards www.robertoatley.com

Quantum Sails www.quantumsails.com

SailProud www.sailproud.com

Weather Routing, Inc. www.wriwx.com

Chip Riegel Photography www.chipriegel.com

W Class Yachts www.w-class.com

Lyman Perry Architects www.lparchitects.com

Tradewind Aviation www.tradewindaviation.com

 


ABOUT NANTUCKET RACE WEEK AND THE OPERA HOUSE CUP

Nantucket Race Week is an eight-day experience that marshals the entire Nantucket community together in a fun-filled week of regattas, awards ceremonies, and parties. The races provide sport for everyone from young dinghy sailors and families in the household knockabout to grand prix racers at the very top of their profession. The racing begins on Saturday, August 7, 2010 with events scheduled daily through Sunday, August 15, 2010.    For a detailed event listing, please visit our Schedule of Events.   Nantucket Race Week is proud to be a Clean Regatta as certified by Sailors for the Sea.

 

The Opera House Cup Regatta is a cherished tradition held on the third Sunday of August on Nantucket. The 38th Annual Opera House Cup Regatta will be Sunday, August 15, 2010.   The Opera House Cup Regatta was the first all-wooden, single-hulled classic boat regatta on the East Coast, and it attracts some of the finest sailboats in the country.    The Opera House Cup Regatta is proud to be a Clean Regatta as certified by Sailors for the Sea.

 

We are proud to welcome back our Opera House Cup title sponsor, the luxury Italian watch manufacturer, Panerai.   The OHC Regatta and Awards Party benefits Nantucket Community Sailing.

 


ABOUT NANTUCKET COMMUNITY SAILING

Founded in 1994, Nantucket Community Sailing (NCS) is a non-profit, educational organization providing affordable recreational access to sailing & various water sports to the public. We continue to improve community access to our waters and strive to strengthen the island's historical maritime traditions by:

 

·         Hosting the Opera House Cup Regatta , a "classic" wooden sailboat race.

·         Providing free access to equipment and instruction to many community outreach programs.

·         Sponsoring and running Nantucket's High School Varsity and Club Sailing Teams.

·         Implementing an alternative Watersport Outreach class in the Nantucket High School's physical education curriculum.

·         Offering scholarships to year-round island youth.

·         Running informal sailboat races for all levels.

·         Teaching adaptive windsurfing and rowing clinics for disabled athletes.

 

Since 1994, over 10,000 children have learned to sail in one of the greatest natural sailing venues in the world - Nantucket Island, Massachusetts!

 



P.O. Box 2424, Nantucket, MA 02584
NCS Office: 508-228-6600 | Jetties Sailing Center: 508-228-5358
info@nantucketraceweek.org
© 2019 Nantucket Community Sailing, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization