Print Friendly and PDF

Race Week News

Back

Day 6 of Nantucket Race Week
August 12, 2010

Contact:
Diana Brown
4 Winter Street
PO Box 2424
Nantucket, MA 02584
Office: 508.228.6600
Diana@nantucketsailing.com

                                    For Immediate Release

            Highlights and results of Thursday, August 12th of Nantucket Race Week

Full results posted at http://www.nantucketraceweek.org/page/nrw/race_results/2010_race_results

Nantucket was blessed with a 6th straight day of perfect sailing conditions - easterly winds of 12-15 knots, clear skies, flat water.  12 Metre's and IOD's competed in the lee of Great Point, while a variety of boats started in Hyannis Massachusetts Thursday morning in the "Race to Nantucket." 

12 Metre's included Classic boats American Eagle, Columbia, Nefertiti, and Weatherly, and Vinage boats Gleam, Northern Light and Onawa.  Chip Thayer of Annapolis Yacht Club is the Principal Race Officer.

Pro's competing in the IOD Pro/Am include Gary Jobson, Tom Whidden, Chuck Allen, Mike Coe, Robbie Doyle, Kevin Farrar, Mark Reynolds, Dee Smith, Dave Ullman, Mike Toppa, Kimo Worthington, and Steve White.  Ken Legler, Coach of the Tufts Sailing Team, is the Principal Race Officer.

In the evening, several hundred sailors and their families gathered at Nantucket Yacht Club for the Regatta Dinner.  Wendy Schmidt of ReMain Nantucket congratulated Nantucket Race Week on achieving "Sailors for the Sea" GOLD certification for their dry sailed and one design regattas.  Gary Jobson entertained with highlights of the 2010 America's cup competition in Valencia Spain.

Division: IOD (12 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper/Crew

1

2

3

4

Total
Points

Pos

1

AMERICAN

JAMES D. BISHOP, JR./DAVE ULLMAN

1

1

6

3

11.00

1

2

BRAVO

DAVID POOR & CHRIS GOULD

3

5

3

2

13.00

2

3

TANGO

JONAS EVERETS & JOE CRENEY/KIMO WORTHINGTON

2

4

2

7

15.00

3

Division: 12 Metre (12 boats)

Subdivision: TRADITIONAL (4 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper/Crew

Subdivision

1

2

Total
Points

Pos

1

US- 16

COLUMBIA

ALAIN HANOVER

TRADITIONAL

1

1

2.00

1

2

US- 19

NEFERTITI

SEARS WULLSCHLEGER

TRADITIONAL

2

2

4.00

2

3

US- 17

WEATHERLY

DAVID EDWARDS

TRADITIONAL

3

3

6.00

3

Subdivision: VINTAGE (3 boats)

Pos

Sail

Boat

Skipper/Crew

Subdivision

1

2

Total
Points

Pos

1

US- 6

ONAWA

ALAN WORDEN

VINTAGE

5

5

10.00

1

2

US- 14

NORTHERN LIGHT

CHARLIE GUSTIN

VINTAGE

7

6

13.00

2

3

US- 11

GLEAM

BEN BLAKELY

VINTAGE

6

7

13.00

3


About Nantucket Race Week Sponsors

Nantucket Community Sailing is delighted to welcome new and returning Sponsors:

NRW Title Sponsor

reMain Nantucket www.remainnantucket.org

OHC Presenting Sponsor

Panerai www.panerai.com

Gold Sponsor

Vineyard Vines www.vineyardvines.com

Silver Sponsor

Sperry Topsider www.sperrytopsider.com

Chartis www.chartisinsurance.com

The Inquirer and Mirror www.ack.net

1/2 Silver Sponsor

Hedge Connection www.hedgeconnection.com

Vioni Capital Management www.vionicapital.com

Bronze Sponsor

Charles Schwab www.schwab.com

Windward Investment Management www.windwardinv.com

Wilmington Trust www.wilmingtontrust.com

Porsche www.greaterboston.porschedealer.com

Polachi Partners www.polachi.com

David Yurman www.davidyurman.com

ePaint www.epaint.com

Maui Jim www.mauijim.com

Carlin Contracting www.carlincontracting.com

Fleet Sponsor

Atlantis WeatherGear www.atlantisweathergear.com

Plum TV www.plumtv.com/nantucket

New England Brokerage Co. www.nebco.net

Headway www.hdway.com

Robert Oatley Vineyards www.robertoatley.com

Quantum Sails www.quantumsails.com

SailProud www.sailproud.com

Weather Routing, Inc. www.wriwx.com

Chip Riegel Photography www.chipriegel.com

W Class Yachts www.w-class.com

Lyman Perry Architects www.lparchitects.com

Tradewind Aviation www.tradewindaviation.com


About Nantucket Race Week and the Opera House Cup

Nantucket Race Week is an eight-day experience that marshals the entire Nantucket community together in a fun-filled week of regattas, awards ceremonies, and parties. The races provide sport for everyone from young dinghy sailors and families in the household knockabout to grand prix racers at the very top of their profession. The racing begins on Saturday, August 7, 2010 with events scheduled daily through Sunday, August 15, 2010.    For a detailed event listing, please visit the Schedule of Events.   Nantucket Race Week is proud to be a Clean Regatta as certified by Sailors for the Sea.

The Opera House Cup Regatta is a cherished tradition held on the third Sunday of August on Nantucket. The 38th Annual Opera House Cup Regatta will be Sunday, August 15, 2010.   The Opera House Cup Regatta was the first all-wooden, single-hulled classic boat regatta on the East Coast, and it attracts some of the finest sailboats in the country.    The Opera House Cup Regatta is proud to be a Clean Regatta as certified by Sailors for the Sea.

Nantucket Community Sailing is proud to welcome back the Opera House Cup title sponsor, the luxury Italian watch manufacturer, Panerai.   The OHC Regatta and Awards Party benefits Nantucket Community Sailing.


About Nantucket Community Sailing

Founded in 1994, Nantucket Community Sailing (NCS) is a non-profit, educational organization providing affordable recreational access to sailing & various water sports to the public.  Nantucket Community Sailing continues to improve community access to local waters and strive to strengthen the island's historical maritime traditions by:

·         Hosting the Opera House Cup Regatta , a "classic" wooden sailboat race.

·         Providing free access to equipment and instruction to many community outreach programs.

·         Sponsoring and running Nantucket's High School Varsity and Club Sailing Teams.

·         Implementing an alternative Watersport Outreach class in the Nantucket High School's physical education curriculum.

·         Offering scholarships to year-round island youth.

·         Running informal sailboat races for all levels.

·         Teaching adaptive windsurfing and rowing clinics for disabled athletes.

Since 1994, over 10,000 children have learned to sail in one of the greatest natural sailing venues in the world - Nantucket Island, Massachusetts.



P.O. Box 2424, Nantucket, MA 02584
NCS Office: 508-228-6600 | Jetties Sailing Center: 508-228-5358
info@nantucketraceweek.org
© 2019 Nantucket Community Sailing, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization