Print Friendly and PDF

IOD Celebrity Invitational Regatta

2022 IOD Celebrity Invitational

August 17 - 19, 2022

Nantucket Race Week is pleased to announce the 17th annual running of the IOD Celebrity Invitational.

Karen Ryan Photography


Imagine being provided a boat within a fleet of evenly matched IODs to be raced by your crew on Nantucket Sound. Further imagine having an America's Cup tactician, Olympic medalist or a world champion calling your tactics for the regatta. In keelboat one-design racing this is truly special.

Karen Ryan Photography

The Celebrity Invitational begins with an opening reception buffet dinner at the Great Harbor Yacht Club, with two days of racing and more social events. The series will consist of up to four races each day on Nantucket Sound. Each participating team will have a celebrity tactician on-board. Races will be sailed in a fleet format, and prizes will be awarded for daily and overall results. Opportunities abound for non-sailing spouses and significant others to explore and enjoy the island: beaches, bicycling, water sports, shopping, museums, sightseeing and more.

Karen Ryan Photography

Schedule of Events


Throughout day - arrival on island and transport to accommodation

6:30pm - IOD Celebrity Invitational Opening Buffet, including registration and check-in, Great Harbor Yacht Club Note: proof of COVID vaccine may be required


08:30am - Skippers' Meeting, Nantucket Yacht Club patio

10:00am - Day One of the IOD Celebrity Invitational, practice starts followed by racing


10:00am - Day Two of the IOD Celebrity Invitational, first warning signal

4:00pm - IOD Celebrity Invitational Awards Ceremony, Nantucket Yacht Club patio

5:30pm - Optional - Crew Social, TBD: proof of COVID vaccine may be required

2022 IOD Celebrity Invitational Co-Chairs:

Sandy Adzick and Chris Gould

Professional Race Officer:

Ken Legler: Since 1974 has been running races for countless one-design championships as well as Key West Race Week (23 times), Chester Race Week, Orange Bowl and Youth & Junior Championships. 41 years coaching at Tufts University.

2021 Master of Ceremonies:

Dawn Riley: CEO of America True. First woman to manage an America's Cup Team; Competed in four America's Cups and two Whitbreads (now Volvo Ocean Race). Former president of Women's Sports Foundation. Currently Executive Director of Oakcliff Sailing, a non-profit training athletes in inshore, offshore and high performance sailing. Inducted into the National Sailing Hall of Fame in 2021.

2021 IOD Celebrity Invitational Tacticians:

Betsy Alison: Head Paralympic Sailing Coach 2000-2016. First female sailor inducted into National Sailing Hall of Fame in 2011. Won World Championships & Nationals in many sailing classes including Shields, Women's Match Racing, Yngling, Lightning, Adams Cup & Rolex International Women's Keelboat Championships. Director of Adult Education Programs for US Sailing.

Mike Buckley: Professional tactician competing in Melges classes, Farr 40, Mumm30, Etchells, M32 and the Match Racing Tour. Won various Nationals, North Americans, World Championships. Winner of the Congressional Cup, Gold Cup & Match Racing World Champion as tactician on board Stars& Stripes.

John Burnham: Races Shields and IOD, winning three Class titles. Tactician for the winning team in 2019 Nantucket IOD Celebrity Invitational. Three time winner (and current defender) IOD World Championship.

Taylor Canfield: Two time Match Racing World Champion in 2013 & 2020. Top ranked match racer for three of the past five years. Four time winner of the Congressional Cup, three time winner of the Gold Cup & winner of countless World Match Racing Tours in both monohull & multihull boats. Co-founded Stars & Stripes USA, the 5th Challenger of the 36th America Cup, with professional sailor Mike Buckley.

Rod Favela: Coach for North Sails. Member of winning teams for NA Championships on VXOne, Hobie 33 & US Sailing Championship of Champions along with victories in Chicago-Mackinac Race, NYYC regatta & Herreshoff trophy. On Venezuela team for the Gold Cup in Star Sailors League.

Tom Lihan: Lasers (NA, national winner, won '95 Pan Am trials), Finn (NA winner, '84 Olympic trials). Victories in numerous big boat regattas. Active Etchells program. Eighth year as a NRW Celebrity tactician.

Mike Marshall: Sail designer for North Sails. 2016 J/22 Worlds Champion, won J/22 North Americans & top ten in multiple J/24 Worlds, NAs and Nationals. Board member of Conanicut Island Sailing Foundation.

Mark Reynolds: Four-time U.S. Olympic representative in Star Class. ('92 Gold, '88 Silver, '96, '00 Gold). Twice Star class World champion ('00,'95) . Rolex US Yachtsman of the Year & inducted in the National Sailing Hall of Fame. Sailmaker (Quantum, San Diego).

Chris Snow: Sailmaker & manager of North Sails One Design. Ten time National & North American champion in many One Design boats and top 10 World Championships. Winner of IOD Celebrity Invitational as tactician in 2008.

Past Celebrity Tacticians:

Adams,Ed Garcia, Grant Moore, Geoff
Adams, Josh Garland, Phil Musto, Keith
Allen, Chuck Green, Andy Perry, Dave
Allsopp, Jim Haberland, Nancy Proctor, Chad
Anderson, Karl Haines, Robbie Read, Brad
Appleton, Cameron Healy, Pat Read, Ken
Barkow, Sally Healy, Tim Reed, Dave
Becker, Geoff Holmberg, Peter Rey, Tony
Brady, Julia Isler, JJ Reynolds, Mike
Brenner, Dean Isler, Peter Riley, Dawn
Bromby, Peter Jobson, Gary Schwab, Bruce
Brun, Vince Keyworth, Will Sertl, Cory
Burnham, John Kotoun, Anthony Sertl, Mark
Burnham, Kevin Kullman, Martin Shore, Bill
Callahan, Mike Larson, Chris Smith, Dee
Campbell, Andrew Lawrence, Luke Smith, Jud
Commette, Peter Leech, Suzy Snow, Chris
Crump, Will & Marie Lewis, Cam Swanson, Jody
Dellenbaugh, David LeVesque, Peter Tihansky, Jahn
Diaz-de-Leon, Victor Lihan, Tom Toppa, Mike
Doyle, Robbie Lynn, Bill Tunnicliffe, Anna
Enright, Charlie MacCausland, John Ullman, Dave
Ewenson, Geoff Macky, Jane Weisman, Gary
Farrar, Jonathan Mahaney, Kevin Welles, Will
Farrar, Kevin Marshall, Mike Whidden, Tom
Fortenberry, Bill McClintock, Moose White, Steve
Fowler, Neal Merrill, Nate Whyte, Skip
Franzel, Dave Miller, Jim Widnall, Bill
Mollicone, John Wilmot, Jeremy
Worthington, Kimo
Wright, Jon

Sort By: Date of Entry | Boat Name | Skipper

IOD Celebrity Invitational Regatta
Register Today >
Skipper's Name Boat Name City & State Division/Class Non-spin CRF Rating LOA Designer Year Sail #
Date of Entry

P.O. Box 2424, Nantucket, MA 02584
NCS Office: 508-228-6600 | Jetties Sailing Center: 508-228-5358
© 2022 Nantucket Community Sailing, a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization