Detailed Information
   Notice Of Race
   Sailing Instructions
   Invitational Winners
   Entry Application
   Race Results
   Celebrities and Teams
   IOD World Association
   < Home
Print Friendly and PDF

IOD Celebrity Invitational Regatta


August 12 - 14, 2015



  (photo by Karen Ryan Photography)


Imagine being provided a boat within a fleet of 14 evenly matched IODs to be raced by your crew on Nantucket Sound.   Further imagine having an America's Cup tactician, Olympic medalist or a world champion calling your tactics for the regatta.  In keelboat one-design racing this is truly special.

Nantucket Race Week is pleased to announce the eleventh annual running of the IOD Celebrity Invitational.


    (photo by Karen Ryan Photography)

The Celebrity Invitational begins with an opening reception buffet dinner at the Great Harbor Yacht Club on August 12, with two days of racing and more social events on August 13 and 14, 2015.  The series will consist of up to four races each day on Nantucket Sound.  Each participating team will have a celebrity tactician on-board.  Races will be sailed in a fleet format, and prizes will be awarded for daily and overall results. Opportunities abound for non-sailing spouses and significant others to explore and enjoy the island: beaches, bicycling, water sports, shopping, museums, sightseeing and more.

     (photo by Karen Ryan Photography)

Schedule of Events

Wednesday, August 12th

  Throughout day - arrival on island, and transport to accommodation

 6:00pm IOD Celebrity Invitational Opening Buffet, including registration and check-in,  at Great Harbor Yacht Club ($85)

Thursday, August 13th

 9:00am Skippers' Meeting at Nantucket Yacht Club

11:00am Day One of the IOD Celebrity Invitational, first warning signal

 6:00pm Daily Awards ceremony

 6:30pm  Optional:  Buffet Dinner with Gary Jobson at Great Harbor Yacht Club ($70)

August 14th

 9:00am Skippers' Meeting at Nantucket Yacht Club

11:00am Day Two of the IOD Celebrity Invitational, first warning signal

 4:30pm  Awards ceremony at Nantucket Yacht Club

 7:30pm  Optional: Shipwreck Costume Ball at Nantucket Yacht Club ($90 advance/$125 door) (casual, costumes optional, theme:  Gilligan's Island)


2014 Honorary Chairperson:

 Tom Whidden   America’s Cup 8 campaigns (3 wins), America’s Cup Hall of Fame, CEO of North Sails 


2014 Celebrity Tacticians:

Josh Adams, three-time College All American, Director of US Olympic Sailing

Jim Allsopp, three decade veteran of North Sails, former Star World Champion, 6 AC campaigns

Peter Bromby, Olympic sailor (Star), three-time IOD World Champion

Robbie Doyle, Olympian, founder of Doyle Sailmakers, two time winning celebrity tactician

Dave Franzel, founder and director of the Boston Sailing Center, Sonar World champ

Phil Garland, partner in Hall Spars, two-time Mumm 30 NA Champion

John MacCausland, America’s Cup (1987), six-time Star NA champ, Star World champ

Mark Reynolds, multiple Olympic Gold Medal and Worlds winner in Stars

Dawn Riley, 4 America's Cup campaigns, 2 Whitbreads; director Oakcliff Sailing Center

Jud Smith, heads Doyle One Design; 5 Worlds, 8 North American Championships

Mike Toppa, participated in seven America's Cup campaigns, won twice

Dave Ullman, four-time World Champion and 1996 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year

Will Welles, 2014 J24 World Champion, 2014 Rolex Yachtsman of the Year nominee

Jon Wright, trimmed mainsheet in five America's Cups and won the 1989 Volvo Ocean Race


 Past celebrity tacticians:   

Adams, Josh Garland, Phil Read, Ken
Allen, Chuck Gladstone, John Reynolds, Mark
Allsopp, Jim Haines, Robbie Riley, Dawn
Anderson, Karl  Healy, Tim Schwab, Bruce
Barkow, Sally Holmberg, Peter Shore, Bill
Brady, Jim Isler, JJ Smith, Dee
Brady, Julia Isler, Peter Smith, Jud
Brenner, Dean Jobson, Gary Snow, Chris
Brun, Vince  Keyworth, Will Swanson, Jody
Burnham, John Kotoun, Anthony Tihansky, Jahn
Burnham, Kevin Larson, Chris Toppa, Mike
Callahan, Mike Lewis, Cam Tunnicliffe, Anna
Campbell, Andrew Macky, Jane Ullman, Dave
Crump, Will & Marie Mahaney, Kevin Weisman, Gary
Dellenbaugh, David Merrill, Nate Wells, Will
Doyle, Robbie Miller, Jim Whidden, Tom
Farrar, Kevin Mollicone, John White, Steve
Fortenberry, Bill Moore, Geoff Widnall, Bill
Fowler, Neal Musto, Keith Worthington, Kimo
Franzel, Dave Perry, Dave Wright, Jon
Garcia, Grant Read, Brad